A Homemade Ash Wednesday

Ash Wednesday.  Lent for the next 40 days.  I didn’t participate in this church tradition until I was over 25 years old, partly because I wasn’t really aware of what it meant and I thought it was only a  Catholic thing.  (I know.  I’m still slightly embarrassed at my ignorance of my own church history.)

I didn’t make it to the 7:30 AM service this morning at the Cathedral because, let’s be real, I am not a morning person.

So tonight, on a brief break between my shows, David lit an old Anthropologie candle, and I grabbed my black eyeliner from the bathroom drawer.  A quick prayer, my favourite line being “Almighty and everlasting God, you hate nothing you have made and forgive the sins of all who are penitent.”  “You hate nothing you have made.”  I loved saying this out loud.  It felt like I was speaking love.  David remarked, “you don’t hear that often, hey?”  Yeah, I haven’t heard that message a lot in the church.

Back to the eyeliner.  Smudged some on my hand and then drew a cross on David’s forehead; he then did the same for me.  Some sitting still for a few minutes in contemplation.

My homemade Ash Wednesday.  That’ll do.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

